Skip to content

WTF or did I miss something…

22/05/2013

Referencing: http://petapixel.com/2013/05/21/rip-professional-photographers/

I’m jumping on the boat here, it was an incredibly stupid and strange thing for someone in her position to say.

However, lets get off the boat and consider the comments she made
…there’s no such thing as Flickr Pro, because today, with cameras as pervasive as they are, there is no such thing really as professional photographers, when there’s everything is professional photographers. Certainly there is varying levels of skills, but we didn’t want to have a Flickr Pro anymore, we wanted everyone to have professional quality photos, space, and sharing.” – Marissa Mayer, Yahoo CEO

Professional?

She was taken on to restore the flagging fortunes of Yahoo as it slips from the pedestal  So why say there are no Professional Photographers, because even if you hated photography, been picked up and used by a photographer and needed a facial reconstruction due to being hit by a Canon, you still couldn’t say that there are no professional photographers. To me a professional is someone that makes money from the craft. There are plenty of people that do that, but this is obvious so her statement is unwarranted or lacking understanding, both would make sense if she was a pundit but she is the CEO of a company that depends on a diverse customer base… confused, yeah, well so am I.

So let’s look at the metaphysical. More people upload to Flickr using an iPhone than any other kit, but that doesn’t make some of them unprofessional, I use my android phone to record images. I’m still a professional! Was she just saying that everyone has need for storage because we snap everything and upload to Facebook, Instagram and other junk sites (and by junk I mean it’s not a dedicated site like say Photo.net or 500px.com).

So is she elevating everyone to the same level… we all record things for properity and then commit it to an electronic system (no more printing). However, I see what I do with lights and post processing and I know that people with iPhones and some with DSLR’s can’t do this… so we’re all professionals but some are more professional than others.

Confused

I looked at this from every way, well obvioulsy not every way, but every logical way, what I see is a really stupid statement from someone that shouldn’t make these statements.

Conclusion

If I use Flickr, am I saying I’m shite at photography or am I just like everyone else or am I just taking it the wrong way?
Unfortunately, there is no answers but I do admit to feeling a little disappointed that my 4 years  4 years in learning institutions getting better at what I do, understanding the processes and appreciating my place in the world.

So until she can explain what she meant, and not come off as a PR get out of jail card I’ll treat her and her company as a company that disrespects me!

Stupid CEO!

From → Journey, Photography

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

