Skip to content

Govan, in Glasgow, right!

17/09/2013

(5 images) It had/has a reputation for hard men… they’d kill you for looking at you the wrong way!

All complete trash today, but what we do have is a passionate, down to earth range of characters who have a sense of who they are. I ended up doing a trip with some community ‘champions’ on a tour of a place I know, and found that I didn’t know it as well as I thought. Note to self: I need to explore more when on a street adventure.

Smokers

Smokers

I was shocked to see this… we were standing as a group catching up… the girl caught my eye because I liked her fashion sense… she met up with who I think is her boyfriend and they started smoking… I was shocked!

Govan Cathedral

Govan Cathedral

Govan Old Parish Church

Govan Old Parish Church

It’s not a cathedral, but it’s unique and houses different faiths, each use it for their own worship… I was kinda impressed with this! The brickwork fascinated me too! Govan Old Parish Church… good place!

A smack in the Face

A smack in the Face

Govan, as I learned, has a proud tradition of being home to the show ground people. The man with the umbrella is spokesperson for them. The have a gate to their yard that has won awards, but Glasgow Council don’t like them… the commissioned a fence that runs right over it. The group behind are Community Champions from all over, I think it highlights the lack of communication between the bureaucracy and the community!

Lastly, a view of Govan of old… it was a dreich day, actually it was “pishinit doon” but this lended itself to the image… A glimpse of Govan of old!

Glimpse of Old Govan

Glimpse of Old Govan

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

